16-35 f2.8 vs 16-35 f4 vs 12-24 f4

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Lenses' started by Ttp, Aug 14, 2017.

1. Ttp

Ttp New to TalkEmount

Aug 14, 2017
    Hello folks, I am new around here, maybe you can help me decide, I just switch from Nikon to Sony, I am a landscape photographer, and i dont know which lens to buy.

I dont know if buy 16-35 f2.8 GM vs 16-35 f4 Zeiss vs 12-24 f4 GM

Please let me know why you choose the lens. Any good or bad experience????

Thank you for your help!

2. Mus Aziz

Mus Aziz TalkEmount All-Pro

Sep 3, 2015
    Mus
    Welcome to Talkemount Ttp

I used the 16-35/4 for about a year and noticed that most (around 80%) of my landscape pics were taken around the 20mm FL. It's a good lens although there have been reports of not so good copies. Wanting to have better IQ (not that my copy of the 16-35/4 was not good), I sold it and got myself the Sigma 20mm Art lens, which I'm perfectly happy with except for the physical size and needing to use large filters (NDs, Grads, etc) 150mm sizes, which are expensive.

The new 12-24 is a G lens, not a G Master. I'm keen to try/buy when funds permit :(

• Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. NickCyprus

NickCyprus Super Moderator Subscribing Member

Oct 11, 2012
    Cyprus
    Nick
    I don't own either so I won't share my thoughts since you ask for "experiences" :)

But since you are a landscape photographer, take into consideration that the new 12-24 G needs bigger that the traditional 100mm filter system (150mm). No screw in filters either. Do you already own filters? Which camera do you shoot with?
    IMO, the 16-35 f4 is the best compromise for landscape photography unless you do stuff that require wider apertures (is f/2.8 even enough for astro photography?), or need the absolute sharpness or if money is not an issue ;)

4. TedG954

TedG954 TalkEmount Hall of Famer

Nov 29, 2014
    South Florida and NE Ohio
    Ted Gersdorf