12 bit/ 14 bit raw files

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by rayvonn, Feb 13, 2016.

1. rayvonn

rayvonn TalkEmount Regular

Jan 3, 2016
    Hi,

First post and am interested to hear the opinions from members here who shoot raw.

In real world practical terms, do you really find it a big deal whether a raw file is 12 or 14 bit? How much of a difference does it make in terms of being able to really hammer a raw file in LR/PS?

2. unlo

unlo Sony ******

Jan 19, 2014
    Ohio
    Matt
    I have the option after updating my mk2. I turned it on and forgot about it. If it means the potential for better quality images, that's 'nuff for me. I shoot a lot of low light and i tend to push my images in LR. Probably bc i'm a horrible photographer that doesn't understand exposure from a hole in the ground. YMMV

Sent from my Oneplus One using Tapatalk

• Like Like x 2
  3. Nexnut

Nexnut TalkEmount Top Veteran

It really depends on what you shoot and how you process your files. A good part of my photography is abstract and more often than not I tweak the .... out of those tones and I'm happy about every single bit in my RAWs. Unfortunately I can't use the NEX for those jobs since I'd run into banding/tonal separation pretty early in the process due to the lossy compression; shame, shame ...
    BTW, I had a discussion with someone else yesterday who mentioned that he brought his jpg processing to perfection. To each one his/her own :)

4. rayvonn

Jan 3, 2016
    Me too, that's probably why I asked the question - I need to be able to push the files as much as possible to cover my errors! If the difference between 12/14 raw files is visible and makes a difference, then it seems like a cheaper way of attaining 14 bit files (than getting an A7RII) would be to get a 6D/D610/750. But maybe it doesn't make any difference, I don't know. If there is little or no difference, the issue doesn't arise and I can proceed to get a first version A7R. That's why I asked.

5. rayvonn